As Election Day 2014 nears, Chatfield area voters have to choose between mostly incumbents on the ballot for city and school offices. Those running for school board, city council and mayor are also running unopposed.

Current Chatfield mayor, Russell Smith, is running uncontested, as are current city council members Paul Novotny and Mike Urban. Recently, issues the council has been dealing with include the 2014 street project, strategic and comprehensive planning and the advent of Destination Medical Center (DMC).

Three school board seats will be filled this coming Tuesday, with Matthew McMahon being the only incumbent on the ticket – longtime members Kathy Schellhammer and Tom Sturgis chose not to file again. Scott Backer and Lanny Isensee will run to fill the vacated seats. Presently, the school board is dealing with strategic planning as well, enrollment and budgeting changes and the transition to using technology in the classroom.

Down the road in Fountain, the city council ballot includes only incumbents, as the mayor and council are running unopposed. Richard Kujath will be watching the election numbers to retain his mayoral seat, and James Schott and Bryan Ostby hope to return to their places on the council. Fountain’s council has been busy handling repairs and maintenance issues for its relatively new wastewater treatment plant, which has posed problems for which very few solutions have been found.

Results of the elections will be canvassed within 10 days, as legally required.