Chatfield cross-country team ends season with awards night

The 2018 Chatfield cross-country award winners are, in front row from left, Beatrice Martin, Isabelle Berg, Kaylee Martin, Aletta Strande, Katelyn Dornack and Anna Kivimagi. In back are Brady Woltz, Kory Aarhus, Colby Aarhus, Cooper Frederick, Abbi Gillespie and Treyton Lanning SUBMITTED PHOTO
By : 

In probably his final act as the Chatfield High School cross-country coach, Chris Frye presided over the 2018 awards banquet. 

Here are the awards presented.

Most Valuable: sophomore Beatrice Martin and junior Brady Woltz.

Most Improved: eighth grader Aletta Strande and junior Colby Aarhus.  Strande moved into second on the Gophers’ Top 10 Honor Roll and Aarhus improved his time by four minutes from the beginning of the season.

Top Rookie awards went to eighth grader Anna Kivimagi and seventh grader Kolby Aarhus.

All-conference honors: Strande, Martin, Katelyn Dornack, Abbi Gillespie and Treyton Lanning.

250-mile awards: Martin, Dornack and Lanning, first year winners.  Isabelle Berg earned the honor for the third consecutive year.  The award goes to those individuals who run 250 miles, or more, over the summer. 

2018 captains were recognized: Berg, Kaylee Maker, Cooper Frederick, Joey Steien and Woltz.

2018 letter winners, girls: Maker, Martin, Berg, Yarely Arellano, Dornack, Gillespie, Strande, Joanna Salerno, Ellie Glende, Sarah Thompson, Kivimagi, Isabelle Carr and manager Lauren Cole.

2018 letter winners, boys: Frederick, Steien, Woltz, Aarhus, Alex Wright, Evan Wright, Braden Thompson, Sam Miron, Konnor Kivimagi and Brennan Hill.

Gold Academic award from the Minnesota State High School Coaches Association went to the girls’ team.  The gals had 3.96 grade point average for five of its runners on the section roster.

Silver Academic award went to the boys’ team.  The boys had a 3.53 GPA.

Next week, look for a Q and A with coach Chris Frye, wrapping up the 2018 season and his 20-year coaching career at Chatfield High School.