All incumbents, two challengers file for Chatfield city, school offices

With filing for local office now closed, all incumbents filed for Chatfield city and school offices, while challengers filed for mayor and School Board.

Chatfield Mayor Russell Smith has a challenger in Dan Folken, who filed on the final day, Aug. 14, people were able to sign up to be on the ballot in the Nov. 6 general election. The mayoral term is two years.

Only incumbents Paul Novotny and Mike Urban filed for Chatfield City Council. Voters will choose two people when they mark their ballots Nov. 6 for four-year terms.

Voters will choose three School Board candidates during the same election. Four people filed for the positions, which have four-year terms.

The three incumbents to file are Scott Backer, Lanny Isensee and Matthew McMahon. The other person to file is Dorothy-Helen L. Billmeier.

There will be plenty of other decisions by voters as all Minnesota constitutional state offices, including governor, plus state representative will be the ballot. At the federal level, both senator seats will be on the ballot as will the District 1 congressional seat.