L/FC/MC qualifies five athletes for state track meet

Lori Anderson was named Section 1A coach of the year following the section track meet. She is shown above with members of her section team. From left are Kaylee Arndt, Aubrey Norby, Emma Breitsprecher, Ashley Miner, Lori Anderson, Bailey Ruen, Brielle Ruen, Katie Prinsen and Kelly Ristau. Not shown are Sydney Taylor, Macayla Brogle and Malia Tessum. KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER
By : 

The Lanesboro/Fillmore Central/Mabel-Canton track teams will send five athletes (four girls, one boy) on to the State Track and Field Meet. L/FC/MC will compete in six events June 8 and 9 at Hamline University in St. Paul.

Congratulations to Burro girls coach Lori Anderson, winner of the Section 1A Girls Track Coach of the Year honors.

The Burros had qualified 18 athletes for the Section 1A Track Meet in Elgin. The first day of competition was May 28 with the second and final day on May 31. The top eight places in each section event earned team points and the top six receive medals.

But there’s a lot more at stake with the winning relays and the top two finishers in the individual events qualifying for state. Other athletes could also qualify if they meet state-standard times, distances or heights.


Sophomore Emma Breitsprecher and senior Ashley Miner each qualified for state in two individual events and on the 4x400-meter relay team along with senior Bailey Ruen and eighth-grader Brielle Ruen.

Breitsprecher is the section champion for the second straight season in the 300-meter low hurdles (45.74 seconds) and also advances as runner-up in 100-meter intermediate hurdles.

Miner will compete at state after being section runner-up in two events — pole vault and 100-meter dash (13.05 seconds). She vaulted 9 feet, 11 inches - awarded second place while losing the tiebreaker.

The 4x400M girls actually placed third but advance with a state-qualifying time (4 minutes, 5.06 seconds) as did second place Plainview-Elgin-Millville.

It was an extremely strong 4x400M field. In the prelims, the Burros ran 4:02.28, surpassing the previous section record time, but they didn’t hold onto it long as first-place Stewartville set a new section record in the finals

Both the 4x200M and 4x800M relays earned fourth-place medals. Ruen, Ruen, Miner and Aubrey Norby ran the 4x200 while Ruen, Ruen, freshman Kaylee Arndt and junior Katelin Prinsen ran the 4x800.

Prinsen also ran seventh in the 800-meter run. Norby also earned eighth-place team points in the 400-meter dash. Freshman Sydney Taylor competed in pole vault.


Freshman Carson Kiehne will run at the state meet as the section runner-up in the boys 400-meter dash.

Kiehne also joined senior Sebastian Kuehn and juniors Drew Wyffels and Josh Peters in placing fifth in the 4x200M relay and then sixth in the 4x400 relay.  

L/FC/MC ran fifth in the 4x800M relay with senior Matthew Lutes, junior Tyler Raaen, sophomore Nathan Betz and freshman Ben Snyder. Lutes also earned the fifth-place medal in the 800-meter run.

Junior Greysen Higbe-Harrah cleared 11 feet, 5 inches while tying for fifth-place in the pole vault.

Eighth-grader JT Rein was ninth in the 300M intermediate hurdles.

Team Results

The Byron girls and the Stewartville boys won the team championships. In a tight five-team race for second place, the L/FC/MC girls were fourth among the 28 teams that scored team points. P-E-M was runner-up with 69.5 points, followed closely by Lake City 69, L/FC/MC 67. Lourdes 66 and Cotter 65.

The L/FC/MC boys (33.5 points) edged out Rushford-Peterson/Houston (33) by a half-point for 11th place out of the 27 teams that scored team points.