LFCMC takes both conference track championships

S. Lee Epps

For the first time in 14 years, both the LFCMC boys and girls won conference team championships in the same season at the Southeast Conference Track and Field Meet at Grand Meadow on May 14. It was the second straight SEC team crown for the boys and their 24th title in 28 years.

This annual event is mostly a two-team race with Grand Meadow, LeRoy-Ostrander/Kingsland/Southland. The LFCMC girls edged GMLOKS by only two points, 117 to 115. The boys outscored the Bulldogs, 130 to 100.

The Lyle/Pacelli girls were a distant third (25) with Schaeffer Academy fourth (8). The Schaeffer boys were third (20) with the L/P boys fourth (5).

Winning an event at the SEC Meet merits all-conference credentials.

LFCMC had 10 girls and 13 boys earn All-SEC distinction.

Drew Wyffels was a four-time conference champion, winning the triple jump and 100-meter dash while running on two winning relays (4x200, 4x400).

Freshman JT Rein swept both hurdle titles (110 meters and 300 meters) and won a third championship on the 4x400M relay.

Sophomore Reid Crawford twice earned all-conference acclaim by winning the 1600-meter run and running a leg on the first-place 4x800M relay.

Josh Peters was also a two-time champ with a first-place long jump and running on the winning 4x20M relay.

Sophomore Carson Kiehne was a two-event champion on both the 4x200 and 4x400 relays.

Hadrian Williams won shot put, and Greysen Higbe-Harrah was the pole vault champion. Both were also on the second-place 4x100M relay along with Peters and Carter Clarke. Clarke, a freshman, was also part of the winning 4x400 foursome.

Frank Ochtrup-Dekeyrel was the high jump champion while placing second in triple jump and third in long jump.

Joining Crawford as 4x800 champions were Nate Betz, Carson Schwichtenberg and seventh grader Jayce Kiehne. Ben Snyder was part of the winning 4x200 team.

The LFCMC boys won three of the four relays and came in second in the other.

LFCMC swept the top three places in both pole vault (Higbe-Harrah, Trenton Chiglo and Tate Pieper) and triple jump (Wyffels, Ochtrup-Dekeyrel and Clarke).

The boys dominated long jump with three of the top four leaps. Peters was first, Ochtrup-Dekeyrel third and Snyder fourth.

In addition to Rein taking both hurdle titles, Connor Ruen was runner-up in the 110M hurdles and Will Harvey third in the 300.

In shot put, Williams was first and Joe Gathje fourth. In high jump, Ochtrup-Dekeyrel was the winner with Ian Shupe fifth. In discus, Gathje was second and Stefan Nikoloski fourth.

In the 100M dash, Wyffels ran first and Jared Peterson fourth. Seventh grader Luke Ruen was third in the 800M run.


Emma Breitsprecher was a repeat champion in the 100-meter hurdles, this time breaking her own Fillmore Central school record with a time of 15.25 seconds.

She is a four-time champion in 2019, placing first in pole vault, 100-meter hurdles and 300-meter hurdles in addition to running on the winning 4x400-meter relay.

Brielle Ruen was twice conference champion, running first in the 400-meter dash and running on the winning 4x400M relay.

Katelin Prinsen was also a two-time All-SEC performer, winning the 800-meter run and running on the first-place 4x800-meter relay.

Kaylee Arndt came across first in the 1600-meter run. Sydney Taylor won the shot put championship and took third in discus.

Joining Prinsen as 4x800M champions were Halle Norby, Katelyn Kleiboer and Madison Simon.

Joining Ruen and Breitsprecher as 4x400 champions were Alida Berg and Kammry Broadwater.

LFCMC swept the top three places in pole vault with Breitsprecher first, Kassidy Broadwater second and Simon third.

LFCMC had the top two 400-meter times with Brielle Ruen first and Macayla Brogle second.

The girls also dominated both hurdle events. In the 110M, Breitsprecher was first, Kelly Ristau third and Alison Freese fourth. At 300M, Breitsprecher took first place with Lynsey Ruen third and Freese again fourth.

With the discus, Emily Snyder was runner-up with Taylor third. In shot put, Taylor was first with Ella Cambern fourth.

LFCMC was strong in high jump with Ristau third, Kassidy Broadwater fourth and Saioa Legal fifth.

In the endurance 3200-meter run, Adeline Miner was third and Simon fourth.

The girls won two relay championships and were runners-up in the other two. Berg and Kammry Broadwater ran on both second-place relays. They were joined by Lauren Brogle and Kaylor Soiney in the 4x100 and by Legal and Macayla Brogle in the 4x200.