Track boys are champions, girls second at SEC meet

The Lanesboro/Fillmore Central/Mabel-Canton boys track team was named conference champs on Thursday. CHRISTINE VREEMAN/NEWS LEADER

Senior Brady Johnson clears the bar in the high jump at the conference meet. CHRISTINE VREEMAN/NEWS LEADER

Sydney Taylor throws shot at the conference meet. CHRISTINE VREEMAN/NEWS LEADER

Dominic Merkel throws shot at last Thursday’s conference meet. He also represented Lanesboro/Fillmore Central/Mabel-Canton in the event at the State True Team meet. CHRISTINE VREEMAN/NEWS LEADER
By : 
News Leader

The Lanesboro/Fillmore Central/Mabel-Canton track boys won the Southeast Conference title for the first time in four years, the 23rd time overall in the past 27 years. The Burro girls were the conference runner-up for the third-straight year to Grand Meadow/LeRoy-Ostrander/Southland/Kingsland as the track teams had a great day at the Southeast Conference meet on Tuesday, May 15, at the Grand Meadow track and field complex.

The top five places in each event earn team points. The first-place conference champions are also all-conference selections.


The Burro boys dominated by scoring twice as many points (141) as second place GM/LO/S/K (70). There were 25 L/FC/MC boys who earned team points; a remarkable 13 are conference champions as the boys took first place in 10 of the 18 events.

They won seven individual titles and three of the four relays (4x200, 4x400, 4x800). The L/FC/MC boys swept the top three places in both pole vault and the 3200M run as well as the top two places in the 800M run and the triple jump.

Freshman Carson Kiehne and junior Drew Wyffels were each three-time SEC champs. Kiehne won the 200M dash, ran on two winning relays, and was second in the long jump. Wyffels won the triple jump and ran on two winning relays.

Senior Sebastian Kuehn won the 400M run and was part of the winning 4x200 title team.

Junior Tyler Raaen was the 800M champ and ran on the winning 4x400 team.

Freshman Jeremy O'Connor won the 3200M run while senior Matt Lutes was the 1600M winner. 

Senior Caleb Kunz was the pole vault winner and finished second in the 110-meter hurdles.

Junior Josh Peters ran on the winning 4x200 team and placed third in the long jump.

Eighth-grader JT Rein ran on the first place 4x400M relay team and was third in the 300M hurdles.

The young 4x800M relay champions are sophomore Nathan Betz, freshmen Ben Snyder and Ben Eversole plus eighth-grader Carter Clarke.

Betz was also second on the 4x100M relay. Snyder was also third in the 1600M run.

Also, senior Devan Schmidt was second in discus and the 4x100M relay, fourth in the 200M dash and placed fifth in the shot put.

Freshman Eric Kunz was second in the 100M dash and third in both the pole vault and 400M dash.

Freshman Trenton Chiglo placed second in the pole vault and ran on the 4x100M relay team.

Sophomore Frank Ochtrup-Dekeyrel was second in both the high jump and triple jump plus took fifth in long jump.

Two eighth-graders excelled as Ben Erickson ran second in the 800M run and Carson Ruen took second in the 3200M run.

Senior Dominic Merkel was second in the shot put and fourth in the discus.

Freshman Devin Troendle was third in the 3200M while junior Connor Ruen was third in the 110M hurdles, fourth in the 300 hurdles and fifth in high jump.

Senior Brady Johnson was part of the runner-up 4x100M relay and fourth in high jump. Junior Daniel Erickson ran fourth at 400 meters. Matthew Eversole was fourth in the 110M hurdles.

Logan Jensson was fifth in triple jump while Seth Semmen placed fifth among 11 discus athletes.


Nineteen girls earned team points, including seven conference champions. The Burro girls won four individual events and the 4x800M relay. L/FC/MC swept the top three places in the 800M run and three of the top four places in the 3200M run and the discus.

Freshman Kaylee Arndt is the 3200-meter run champion, second at 400 meters and also ran on the winning 4x800M relay with Madison Simon, Malia Tessum and Katelin Prinsen.

Prinsen was also second in the 1600M run, and Tessum ran second in the 800-meter run. Simon also placed fourth in pole vault.

Senior Ashley Miner won the pole vault and ran on all three second-place relay teams.

Sophomore Emma Breitsprecher is the 100M hurdle champion, placed second in the high jump, and ran on the second-place 4x200M relay.

Eighth-grader Brielle Ruen placed first in the 800M run, ran on two second-place relays and also placed in long jump.

Also, freshman Sydney Taylor was runner-up in both throwing events, shot put and discus.

Senior Bailey Ruen was fourth in the triple jump and was on all three runner-up relays.

Senior Aubrey Norby was fifth in the triple jump and ran on two relays.

Freshman Kelly Ristau was on the second-place 4x400 relay, third in the high jump and fourth in the 300M hurdles.

Third-place points were earned by seventh-graders Emma Illg (800M) and Adeline Miner (3200M) as well as freshman Ashlyn Guenther (discus).

Finishing fourth were seniors Josie Semmen (discus) and Elif Ozcon (shot put) along with freshman Kendall Stettler (3200M).

Earning fifth place points were Skyler Check in the 100M hurdles and Alison Freese in pole vault.