Track girls are sub-section champions; 16 girls, 14 boys advance to section

KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER Senior Tyler Raaen will advance to sections in the 4x800-meter relay and 800-meter run.

KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER Sophomore Sydney Taylor advances to sections in the shot put.

KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER Sophomore Kaylor Soiney runs the 200-meter dash at sub-sections in Chatfield on Thursday, May 23.

KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER Sophomore Kaylee Arndt qualifies for the section meet by placing in the 1600-meter and 3200-meter runs.

KRISTI RUEN/NEWS LEADER Junior Frank Ochtrup-Dekeyrel soars in the triple jump. He also competed in the long jump and high jump during the sub-section meet.
S. Lee Epps

The Lanesboro/Fillmore Central/Mabel-Canton track and field girls won the sub-section team championship for the first time in 17 years (2002) while the LFCMC boys finished as the 2019 runner-up at the Sub-section 1 Meet (of Section 1A) at Chatfield on May 23.

LFCMC qualified 16 girls and 14 boys for this week's Section 1A Championships on May 28 and 30 at Paul Giel Field in Winona.

Nine LFCMC girls and three boys advance as sub-section champions.

There are three ways at sub-section for individuals or relay teams to advance to section: by (1) placing third or higher in any sub-section event (2) achieving a predetermined section standard time, height or distance, or (3) having one of the top eight times, distances or heights among all four sub-sections.

The top six places earned team points.


The LFCMC girls claimed first-place points in seven of the 18 events, including an amazing sixth straight sub-section title in the 4x800-meter relay and the 4x400-meter crown for the fifth straight season.  The 4x400 time is the third best of the 12 teams qualifying for section.

LFCMC swept the top two places in pole vault and took two of the top three places in the 400-meter dash.

Of the 16 girls advancing to section, nine go as sub-section champions.

Junior Emma Breitsprecher, with four 2019 sub-section titles, goes to section for the third straight season as a 4x800M relay champion as well as repeating as champion in both the 100-meter and 300-meter hurdles. She added the sub-section pole vault title this season.

Her sub-section 300M time of 46.73 seconds is the best of any section qualifier, and her 100M hurdle time of 15.70 seconds is the second best of the 12 section qualifiers in that event.

Freshman Brielle Ruen will compete in three section events; she won the sub-section 400-meter dash and was a repeat champion in the 4x400 relay. Ruen also advances as the 100-meter dash runner-up. Her 400M time (1 minute, 00.81 seconds) was the second best of all section qualifiers.

Sophomore Kelly Ristau won the sub-section high jump competition while clearing the bar at 4 feet, 11 inches.

The 4x800-meter champions were senior Katelin Prinsen, sophomore Katelyn Kleiboer, freshman Halle Norby and eighth grader Madison Simon.

Joining Ruen and Breitsprecher on the winning 4x400M relay were freshman Macayla Brogle and seventh grader Kammry Broadwater.

Brogle and Broadwater also qualified on the second-place 4x200-meter relay along with junior Alida Berg and seventh grader Lauren Brogle.

Sophomore distance runner Kaylee Arndt advances in two events - with a third-place finish in the 1600-meter run and by running a qualifying standard time with a fourth place in the 3200-meter run.

Her times in both events were the fourth best among all qualifiers.

Junior Kassidy Broadwater heads to section after placing second in pole vault, and sophomore Sydney Taylor advances with a third-place shot put. Freshman Morgan Pickett qualified with third-place run at 400 meters.

Also contributing to the team championship by earning team points were both Brogle and Brogle along with Berg and Kassidy Broadwater on the fifth place 4x100M relay.

Sophomore Alison Freese was fourth in pole vault. In the 800-meter run, Prinsen earned fourth-place points with Kleiboer finishing fifth among 15 runners.

Macayla Brogle had a sixth place long jump. Kammry Broadwater ran sixth in the 200-meter dash.


Of the 14 boys advancing to section, three go as sub-section champions. Two are repeat champs.

The LFCMC boys claimed two of the top three spots in both pole vault and the 400M dash. They also had two of the top four places at 1600 meters and the 110M hurdles.

Sophomore Carson Kiehne has now been the sub-section 400-meter champion three times after placing fourth as seventh grader in 2016. He will compete in three events, also qualifying on the second-place 4x200M and 4x400M relays.

Kiehne's 400-meter time of 50.95 seconds was the best among all four sub-sections.

Freshman JT Rein is for the second straight season the 300M hurdle champion with the best time (42.26 seconds) among all four sub-sections. He also goes to section with a third place in the 110M hurdles.

Senior Greysen Higbe-Harrah won pole vault this year after finishing as runner-up in both 2018 and 2017. He cleared 12-feet, 4 inches, a foot higher than the second-place competitor.

In addition to those first places in three events, the LFCMC boys piled up team points by finishing as runner-up in five different events, including three relays.

Senior Drew Wyffels advances to section in a team-best four events. He ran second in the sub-section 100M dash and had a third-place triple jump. He also ran on two second-place relays - the 4x200 and 4x400.

Joining Wyffels on both of those relays were Carson Kiehne, senior Josh Peters and sophomore Ben Snyder.

Both the 4x400 and 4x800 boys had the third best time among all four sub-sections.

Qualifying on the second-place 4x800M relay were Snyder (his third section event), seniors Tyler Raaen and Carson Schwichtenberg plus sophomore Jake Gathje.

Seventh grader Jayce Kiehne heads to section with a second place run at 1600 meters. His time (4 minutes, 52.71 seconds) was the third best among all four sub-sections.

Sophomore Reid Crawford finished fourth in that same 1600M race but advances with the sixth best time among all four sub-sections.

Senior Hadrian Williams placed fourth in shot put but qualified by surpassing a section standard distance (44 feet, 1.75 inches)

Raaen also advances with a third-place run at 800 meters while sophomore Jared Peterson ran third at 400 meters. Sophomore Trenten Chiglo was third in pole vault.

Several athletes just missed advancing with fourth place finishes - Joe Gathje (discus), Frank Ochtrup-Dekeyrel (triple jump), Peters (long jump, 4x100M relay), Williams (4x100M relay) and Ruen (110M hurdles).

Joining Peters and Williams on that fourth-place 4x100M relay were Peterson and freshman Carter Clarke.

Also earning team points were Ruen (6th place, 300M hurdles) and junior Stefan Nikoloski (sixth place, discus).